ICC Men’s T20 WC 2022: India vs Pakistan at MCG on Oct 23


New Delhi: The schedule for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is out, with India and Pakistan drawn in Group 2 of the tournament alongside South Africa and Bangladesh. The arch-rivals will face each other in the group stage of the contest on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

It is noteworthy that Trans-Tasmanian will kick off the tournament on 22nd October, where 2021 T20 world cup winners Australia will face runner-ups New Zealand at Sydney.

This tournament will be Rohit Sharma’s second major assignment after the Asia Cup 2019 where reigned supreme and lifted the trophy. India will look to grab their first ICC multi-nation trophy after winning the last trophy in 2013 (Champions Trophy).

The Group 1 consists of teams like Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan and England, while two more teams from the qualifiers will join them later too.

Group 1: Australia, New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, B1, A2

Between India and Pakistan, It will be the first World Cup clash between the two nations at the MCG and comes before two more fierce rivals, Australia and England.

The seven venues to host matches are Adelaide Oval, The Gabba, Kardinia Park Stadium, Bellerive Oval, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Perth Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground.

The semi-finals will be played at the SCG and Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10, respectively and the final will be contested at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on November 13.

Sri Lanka, West Indies, Scotland, and Namibia qualified but will start the event in the First Round. The four remaining spots at Australia 2022 will be filled via the ongoing qualification, culminating in two global qualifying tournaments in early 2022.




Comments are closed.