High-level Committee to hold Netaji’s 125th birth anniv, CM Naveen included


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has been included as a Member of the High-Level Committee constituted by the Union Culture Ministry to commemorate the 125th birth anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose.

The committee, to be headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself, will decide on programmes and to be undertaken over a one-year period beginning on January 23, 2021.

Among other members of the committee are Union ministers Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Singh Tomar, Smriti Irani, Prakash Javadekar, Jitendra Singh and Prahlad Singh Patel; former Prime Ministers HD Deve Gowda and Manmohan Singh; chief ministers of West Bengal, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura and Meghalaya.

The committee would guide the commemoration activities in Delhi, Kolkata and other places associated with Netaji and the Azad Hind Fauj in India and abroad.

Notably, born in Cuttack on January 23, 1897, Netaji played a key role in India’s freedom movement.

Comments are closed.