Government sanctions Rs 7,214 crore to 6 states, 1 Union Territory as relief for natural calamity damage


New Delhi: The Central government on Tuesday sanctioned Rs 7,214 crore to 6 states and a Union Territory as relief for natural calamity damage.

The sanction also included Rs 4,714 crore to Maharashtra for floods, drought and cyclone damage.

According to a statement by the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), a high-level committee headed by Home Minister Rajnath Singh has sanctioned the additional central assistance.

The sum has been sanctioned from the National Disaster Relief Fund (NDRF).

According to reports the meeting was held here to consider the additional central assistance to these six states and one UT.

These states were affected by floods, landslides and cloudburst. The severe cyclonic strom Gaja had wrought havoc in Tamil Nadu.

The natural disasters and drought had occurred during kharif season 2018-19, the statement said.

Union Finance Minister Piyush Goel, Agriculture Minister Radha Mohan Singh and senior officers of the ministries of Home Affairs, Finance, Agriculture and NITI Aayog were present during the meeting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.