Four Odisha MLAs Who Quit BJD Served Show-Cause Notices Under Anti-Defection Law

Bhubaneswar: Four MLAs of Biju Janata Dal, who recently resigned from the party, have been issued show-cause notices to reply as to why they would not be disqualified on the grounds of defection.

The notices were issued to Nimapada MLA Samir Dash, Hindol MLA Simarani Nayak, Athamallik MLA Ramesh Sai, and Soro MLA Parshuram Dhada on Tuesday.

Following the directions from the Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly, the notices have been issued by the Assembly Secretary Dasarathi Satpathy. They have been asked to reply by 27th May.

These four MLAs resigned from the party after being deprived of the party ticket in the current election. They have joined the BJP. Prashant Muduli, General Secretary of the ruling party, submitted a petition to the Speaker yesterday to revoke their membership under the Anti-Defection law.

Based on this petition, the Assembly Secretary issued a show cause notice to the four MLAs who resigned from BJD.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News