Four Odisha kids to receive National Bravery Awards 2018


Bhubaneswar: Four children from Odisha including two girls have been selected to receive the National Bravery Awards 2018 on the occasion of Republic Day this year for their courageous acts.

The four Odia kids-Jhili Bagh, Ranjita Majhi, Biswajit Puhan, and Situ Mallick, will receive the ICCW National Bravery Awards-2018 from President Ram Nath Kovind.

Mallick (15), who dragged his uncle Binod Malik to safety when a crocodile suddenly attacked him in the village pond on February 20 last year, will also be given the prestigious Bapu Gaidhani Award.

The Women and Child Development (WCD) Ministry on January 16 disclosed the names of the shortlisted children to receive the prestigious award.

The National Bravery Awards is conferred to children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and inspire other children to set examples.

The National Bravery Awards are a set of awards given annually to Indian children below 16 years of age for “meritorious acts of bravery against all odds.” The awards are given by the Government of India and the Indian Council for Child Welfare. The award was instituted in 1957.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.