FIH Player of the Year 2021-22: India’s Harmanpreet Singh Wins Men’s Award


One of the driving forces for the Indian Men’s Hockey Team’s multiple success stories in the year gone by, Harmanpreet Singh’s contributions have been recognised with the FIH Player of the Year Award 2021-22 at the FIH Hockey Stars Awards 2021-22.

Harmanpreet, who has played 155 times for the Indian Men’s Hockey Team, has found the back of the net 115 times. Speaking on the occasion, Harmanpreet said “I am truly very humbled and honoured to have won the FIH Player of the Year Award 2021-22. This is a big moment for my career and I am really happy.

However, I must say that this award is not mine alone, even though it is an individual award, because without the help and support of my teammates, this would not have been possible in anyway at all. So, this is for the team.”

An Arjuna Awardee in 2021, Harmanpreet’s focus will now shift to the upcoming FIH Hockey Pro League 2022-23, where they will face Spain and New Zealand in the next leg, beginning on 28 October in Bhubaneswar.

“Winning such a prestigious award motivates me to work harder on my game so that I can maintain the high levels regularly. Against Spain and New Zealand, my aim will be to carry out the orders and help execute the plans to perfection. Only then can we do well,” Harmanpreet said.

“We are fully focussed on ensuring we do our best in the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar-Rourkela 2023. We have to improve our record in this tournament. Every team will be a very different and unique challenge, but we are doing our best to ensure the team is well prepared.”

“It has been a while since fans have been able to enjoy the games at the stadium, and I hope they have a great time in the FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar-Rourkela 2023.”

India, who recently bagged the Silver medal in the 2022 Commonwealth Games Birmingham, have drawn England, Wales and Spain in the group stage.

Indian hockey team star Harmanpreet Singh has been named the men’s FIH Player of the Year 2021-22 becoming just the fourth player to win the award in the men’s category in consecutive years.  Harmanpreet Singh joins an elite list featuring Belgium’s Teun De Nooijer and Arthur van Doren and Australia’s Jamie Dwyer to take the honour in successive years.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News