Euro 2020: Know which teams qualified to Round of 16


Budapest: Twelve teams have booked their places in the Euro 2020’s round of 16.

Cristiano Ronaldo scored his 109th goal — matching Ali Daei’s record for the joint most goals scored by an individual in men’s international football — as Portugal and Germany followed France through to the Round of 16 from Group F.

Germany went down by a goal to Hungary in Munich and were staring at an early exit till the 84th minute, before Leon Goretzka equalized in a 2-2 draw against Hungary. Meanwhile in Budapest, Cristiano Ronaldo gave Portugal a 1-0 lead over France but then Karim Benzema struck twice to put them behind. Ronaldo then equalized again, scoring his 109th goal for Portugal, before France equalized.

At the end of the most dramatic night of international football in recent memory, we have the final R16 fixtures. From the participants, Portugal and Germany have sneaked through only to find themselves up against Belgium and England respectively. France, going through as group toppers, will face Switzerland.

Here are all the teams that were qualified through to the Euro 2020, Round of 16:

Group A:                                                                                                         

Teams Qualified: Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Team(s) Eliminated: Turkey

Group B:

Teams Qualified: Belgium, Denmark

Team(s) Eliminated: Finland, Russia

Group C:

Teams Qualified: Netherlands, Austria, Ukraine

Team(s) Eliminated: North Macedonia

Group D:

Teams Qualified: England, Croatia, Czech Republic

Team(s) Eliminated: Scotland

Group E:

Teams Qualified: Sweden, Spain

Team(s) Eliminated: Poland

Group F:

Teams Qualified: France, Germany, Portugal

Team(s) Eliminated: Hungary

Comments are closed.