Election for Lok Sabha Speaker to be Held on June 26

New Delhi: The election for the new Lok Sabha Speaker is set to take place on Wednesday, June 26, two days after the 18th Lok Sabha session commences. The session will convene for the first time on June 24 and will run until July 3, as announced by the Lok Sabha secretariat.

Generally, the Speaker is chosen during the first meeting of Lok Sabha members. Before the Speaker is elected, a pro-tem Speaker, usually the longest-serving MP, is selected for a temporary period. The pro-tem Speaker oversees the initial sittings of the new house, administers oaths to new MPs and conducts the vote for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

The newly-elected members will take the oath during the first two days of the session, while June 26 has been scheduled for the election of the Speaker. President Droupadi Murmu will address a joint sitting of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha on June 27 and is likely to outline the new government’s plans for the next five years.

To elect the Lok Sabha new Speaker, members are required to submit notices for motions supporting candidates by 12 noon the day before the election. It’s important to note that a member cannot nominate themselves, propose their own name, or second a motion, as stated by the secretariat citing rules.

Comments are closed.

Breaking News