EC Announces Schedule For Presidential Elections


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India yesterday announced the schedule for the Election of the 16th President of India.

Announcing the poll schedule in New Delhi yesterday, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said, the poll will be held on the 18th of July.

Notification for the poll will be issued on the 15th of June and the last date for filing nominations will be the 29th of this month.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will take place on the 30th of this month. The counting will be taken up on the 21st of July. The term of office of President Ram Nath Kovind is ending on the 24th of next month.

The President is elected by an electoral college comprising elected members of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies. It also includes the Legislative Assemblies of Delhi and Puducherry.

Mr Kumar said the election will be held by secret ballot in accordance with the system of proportional representation as per the Constitution.

The Chief Election Commissioner said the total number of electors will be 4,809 including 776 Members of Parliament and 4,033 Members of Legislative Assemblies. The total value of the votes will be 10 lakh 86 thousand 431.

Comments are closed.