Denied ticket, Khariar MLA Duryodhan Majhi quits BJP


Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the forthcoming elections in Odisha, Khariar MLA Duryodhan Majhi resigned from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday after being denied ticket to contest polls.

The five-time legislator resigned from the primary membership of the saffron party and sent his resignation letter to party’s state president Basanta Panda.

In his resignation, Majhi said that he left the BJP as he was denied the party ticket, list of which (for 99 Assembly constituencies) was declared on Thursday night.

It may be mentioned here that the BJP has named Rita Rani Bagarti as party candidate from Khariar Assembly seat by replacing the sitting MLA Duryodhan Majhi.

“Very much sorry to intimate you that I am resigning from membership of (BJP), Odisha as I have approached the leaders and high dignitaries of Odisha State Bharatiya Janata Party office Bhubaneswar to allot a symbol Bharatiya Janata Party to me to contest in coming Odisha Legislative Assembly Election from Khariar general assembly constituency but nobody listen to my request,” Majhi said in his resignation letter addressed to State BJP President Basant Panda.

Notably, Majhi had joined BJP after quitting the ruling BJD ahead of 2014 general election after being denied ticket to contest the polls from the conch party.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.