Debashish Mohanty appointed member of BCCI junior selection committee


Bhubaneswar: The Committee of Administrators appointed by the Supreme Court on Friday posted former India fast bowler Debashish Mohanty of Odisha as a member of India’s BCCI junior selection committee.

Mohanty took the place of Venkatesh Prasad, who had resigned from his position as chief selector in March. Ashish Kapoor, Rakesh Parikh, Gyanendra Pandey and Amit Sharma are the other selectors in the junior committee.

The Committee’s decision came after the Supreme Court restored the number of members in each selection committee – senior and junior – to five members.

As per the directions of the Lodha Committee, the senior and junior selection committees had been reduced to three-member panels. However, the Supreme Court on August 9 restored the number to five.

Mohanty has played two Tests and 45 One Day Internationals from 1997 to 2001. He played 17 ODIs and picked up 29 wickets at an average in the early 20s and climbed into the top 20 of the ICC ODI World Rankings.

Along with Harvinder Singh, Mohanty was instrumental in winning one of the Sahara Cup series against Pakistan in Toronto in the 1990s.

Apart from playing for India, he also represented Odisha and East Zone in the Ranji Trophy and Duleep Trophy respectively. In 2006, he joined Colwyn Bay Cricket Club in Wales as the club professional.

Besides, he has the experience of coaching Odisha Ranji team, playing 117 first-class games and also coaching National Cricket Academy camp various times.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.