CWC 19 IND VS NZ: Umpiring error over MS Dhoni run out creates controversy, fans raise questions

303

London: MS Dhoni’s run out in the penultimate over in the thrilling World Cup semi-final match between India and New Zealand has sparked a massive debate on the social media platforms.

The debate was raised on the legality of the delivery and a possible change in the outcome of the match.

MS Dhoni’s dismissal in the penultimate over during India’s ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 semi-final defeat to New Zealand has emerged as one of the biggest talking points.

In the pictures and video going viral, a small graphic could be seen where 6 New Zealand players were standing outside the ring. According to ICC rules, only 5 fielders can be outside of the 30-yard circle in the 3rd powerplay. Thus, if the pictures is true, the delivery should have been called a no-ball.

MS Dhoni would have still been run out even if the umpire had called it a no-ball. However, fans are questioning if Dhoni would have taken the risk and pushed for the 2nd run had he known it was a no-ball.

The video also raised questions about a possible change in the outcome of the match.

The video has prompted fans to react with rage, with many slamming the umpires for failing to spot the error, while others accused Kane Williamson and company of using devious methods to win the match.

Twice champions India were reeling at 24-4 in their chase for a modest victory target of 240 in what had appeared to be a lop-sided semi-final. Ravindra Jadeja partnered MS Dhoni in a century-plus stand to bring them back in the match. However, Jadeja (77) fell in the 48th over. Dhoni then took charge and hit a six to reach his half-century. He was dismissed two balls later and India was all out for 221 soon.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.