Congress announces first list of 124 candidates for Karnataka assembly elections


Karnataka: The Congress party on Saturday announced its first list of 124 candidates for upcoming Karnataka assembly elections due in May.

Names of former chief minister and leader of opposition Siddaramaiah, and state party president DK Shivakumar are present in the first list. The party has decided to field the former CM from the Varuna assembly seat in Mysuru, which is his home constituency, and KPCC chief DK Shivakumar from Kanakapura.

“The CEC has selected the following persons as Congress candidates for the forthcoming elections to the Legislative Assembly of Karnataka,” the AICC press release said.

Other names in the list included Congress leaders Satish Jarkiholi from Yemkanmardi, Lakshmi Hebbalkar from Belgaum Rural, Priyank Kharge from Chitapur, Rizwan Arshad from Shivajinagar, Dinesh Gundu Rao from Gandhinagar, Tanveer Sait from Narasimharaja and B Z Zameer Ahmed Khan from Chamrajpet, among others.

Comments are closed.