Centre Extends Tenure Of Attorney General, Solicitor General


New Delhi: In a major reshuffle by the Centre, the Union Cabinet has extended the tenure of senior advocate Tushar Mehta as Solicitor General and Senior advocate K K Venugopal as Attorney General for India.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved the reappointment of Tushar Mehta as Solicitor General of India with effect from July 1 for a period of three years or until further orders.

Senior advocate K K Venugopal has also been reappointed to the post of Attorney General for India for a period of one year.

The Centre also reappointed the existing five Additional Solicitor Generals (ASGs)—Vikramajit Banerjee, Aman Lekhi, Madhavi Goradia Divan, K M Nataraj and Sanjay Jain for another three years in Supreme Court.

The Cabinet committee also appointed six senior advocates Balbir Singh, Suryaprakash V Raju, Rupinder Singh Suri, N Venkataraman, Jayant K Sud and Aishwarya Bhati as ASGs.

Yezdezard Jehangir Dastoor has been appointed for Calcutta High Court, Chetan Sharma for Delhi HC, Sankaranarayanan for Madras HC, Krishna Nandan Singh for Patna HC and Devang Girish Vyas for the Gujarat HC respectively.

Similarly, Senior advocates Anil Singh and Satya Pal Jain have been re-appointed as ASGs of the High Courts of Bombay and Punjab & Haryana respectively.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.