Carolyn R Bertozzi, Morten Meldal And K Barry Sharpless Jointly Win 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry


Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”.

The Nobel laureates had worked on click chemistry and bioorthogonal reactions. Click chemistry is utilised in the development of pharmaceuticals, for mapping DNA and creating materials that are more fit for purpose, while bioorthogonal reactions have helped researchers improve the targeting of cancer pharmaceuticals.

Sharpless and Meldal have laid the foundation for click chemistry, a functional form of chemistry. In click chemistry, molecular building blocks snap together quickly and efficiently.

Comments are closed.