By-polls: Counting of votes underway in West Bengal, Uttarakhand


New Delhi: Counting of votes from the by-polls to four seats — three in West Bengal and one in Uttarakhand is underway on Thursday.

Counting of votes for the West Bengal and Uttarakhand by-elections began at 8 a.m. on Thursday amid tight security in polling centres. The final results are expected to be declared by 5 p.m.

The Karimpur, Kharagpur Sadar and Kaliaganj Assembly seats in West Bengal and Uttarakhand’s Pithoragarh seat went to polls on Monday.

Around 78 per cent of over 700,000 electorate had cast their votes in the by-polls to Kaliaganj, Karimpur and Kharagpur Sadar Assembly seats in West Bengal where 18 candidates were in the fray.

The Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur seats fell vacant after the general elections as the sitting MLAs of the two seats Dilip Ghosh (BJP) and Mahua Moitra (TMC) had contested and won Lok Sabha seats.

The by-poll at Kaliaganj was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Parmathanath Roy.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.