BJD leader Pratap Keshari Deb takes Oath as Rajya Sabha member


New Delhi: Newly elected Rajya Sabha member from BJD Pratap Keshari Deb, who was elected uncontested following the vacant seat from Odisha in Rajya Sabha took oath at the chamber of Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari in Parliament here on Wednesday.

Deb was a spokesman of the ruling BJD and the chairman of the Odisha state housing board till he filed his nomination for the by-poll on May 15.

Notably, former MP Bishnu Charan Das resigned from the post on May 21, after being appointed as Deputy Chairman of Odisha State Planning Board.

Deb had filed his nomination on May 15 and was automatically elected as the opposition failed to field any candidate.

He was elected to the Rajya Sabha uncontested on May 18.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.