BCCI Nominates Rohit Sharma For Khel Ratna; Shikhar Dhawan, Ishant Sharma And Deepti Sharma For Arjuna Award


New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has nominated India vice-captain Rohit Sharma for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2020.

The board has also nominated Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, and Deepti Sharma for the Arjuna Award.

The players have been nominated as per the guidelines mentioned by the sports ministry.

The Government of India’s Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports had sought invitations for the respective awards with the period of consideration beginning 1st January 2016 to 31st December 2019.

Rohit’s Khel Ratna nomination comes on the back of an outstanding 2019 with the bat: 556 runs at an average of 92.66 in five Test matches, all while opening the batting for the first time; and 1657 ODI runs at 57.30, including the unprecedented feat of five centuries at a single World Cup.

If Rohit wins the award, he will become only the fourth cricketer, after Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli, to do so.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.