BCCI Approves 10-team IPL From 2022 Edition

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s general body on Thursday approved a 10-team IPL from the 2022 edition. The IPL is currently contested between eight teams.

The decision was taken at the 89th Annual General Body Meeting, which was held at the AGM in Ahmedabad.

In another major development, the Board, in principle, decided to back the ICC’s bid for the inclusion of cricket, in the T20 format, in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics after getting clarifications from the International Olympic Committee.

All first-class players, both men, and women, will be suitably compensated for the curtailed domestic season due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The BCCI plans to get the domestic season underway, after several months’ delay, in January with the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 championship.

In other decisions, veteran Congress leader Rajiv Shukla was officially anointed the Board’s vice president in place of his protege Mahim Verma from Uttarakhand.