Battle ground Gujarat: BJP set to retain power, Congress gives tough fight


Ahmedabad: Trends from the much-awaited Gujarat Assembly election 2017 results suggest a clear victory for the BJP. The BJP is on its way to form the government in Modi’s home state for the sixth consecutive time.

All eyes now focus on the Gujarat Assembly election result which will be declared today. Counting of votes began at 8 am sharp. The BJP has extended the lead after the Congress gave a tough challenge.

The election in Gujarat is seen as a prestige battle for both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and newly-elected Congress president Rahul Gandhi. For PM Modi, Gujarat being his home state makes it a must-win battle for the BJP, while for Rahul Gandhi, who is now Congress president, a loss would be seen as a bad start.

The BJP has been ruling in Gujarat for the last two decades and a win today will be significant for them ahead of the 2019 general elections.

The counting of votes is being held at 37 centres across the state’s 33 districts, amidst tight security. For the 182 seats up for grabs, a total of 1,828 candidates contested the elections which were held in two phases on December 9 and 14.

In 2012, the BJP got 115 seats with 48.30 per cent while the Congress won 61 seats with 40.59 per cent.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.