Banks To Remain Shut For 5 Days This Week


New Delhi: Banks across the country will be observing holidays for 12 days this month. However, bank customers must know that there will be five bank holidays in the coming week for various festive occasions including Saturday and Sunday.

Here is a list of bank holidays this week:

On September 8, banks will be closed in Guwahati on account of Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva.

On September 9, banks will observe holiday on account of Haritalika Teej. The branches will be closed in Gangtok.

The major holiday of the month is Ganesh Chaturthi, which will be observed on two consecutive days. On September 10, the bank branches in Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Nagpur and Panaji, according to RBI calendar.

On September 11, the second day of Ganesh Chaturthi, the RBI has declared a holiday in Panaji. However, the operations in all the cities will be impacted since September 11 is second Saturday of the month.

The banks will also be closed on September 12, since it’s a Sunday.

In remaining days of the month, Karma Puja will be marked on September 17, leading to bank closure in Ranchi. Indrajatra will be celebrated in Gangtok on September 20, and Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day in Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram.

Apart from these holidays, September 25 will be the fourth Saturday and 19 and 26 will fall on Sunday.

It must be noted that the holidays shared by the RBI fall into the categories of state-wise celebrations, religious holidays and festival celebrations. If official classifications are to be considered, then the list of holidays comes under the bracket of ‘Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act’. Other classifications of holidays are ‘Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real Time Gross Settlement Holiday’ and ‘Banks’ Closing of Accounts’.

Comments are closed.