Asia Cup 2018: Kohli rested, Rohit Sharma to lead India


Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018, to be played in UAE. India captain Virat Kohli rested from the Asia Cup following a straining tour of England.

Selectors named Rohit Sharma as the captain of the 16-member squad for the tournament.

Kohli’s workload was on the five members’ selection panel’s mind led by MSK Prasad. The selectors said, “Considering the workload we have given Virat Kohli rest. He has been playing continuously for quite some time.”

The 16-member squad includes – Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed.

Khaleel Ahmed, Rajasthan left-arm pacer is the only new face in the squad.

The tournament is scheduled to start from September 15 with the final to be played on September 28 and features Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan and a qualifier.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.