Advisory issued for 48-hour shutdown in Bhubaneswar, Cuttack & Bhadrak Town


Bhubaneswar: The Odisha government today announced complete shutdown in Bhubaneswar City, Cuttack City and Bhadrak town from 8 pm of 3rd April (Friday) till 8 pm of 5th April (Sunday). Accordingly, the State Revenue & Disaster Management Department has issued an advisory to be followed during this 48-hour shutdown.

In the interest of health of general public, aggressive contact tracing, quarantine, testing, and isolation as well as containment is required in the Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation area, Cuttack Municipal Corporation area and Bhadrak Municipality area after detection of six COVID-19 positive cases.

Notably, the Odisha Government, in the exercise of powers conferred under section 2 of the Epidemic Disease Act, 1897 and the Odisha COVID-19 Regulation, 2020 has ordered lockdown of the entire State till midnight of 14th April 2020.

Here are the places which have been declared to shut down for 48 hours:

(i) Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation and the following Gram Panchayat/ Village areas: 

  1. Basuaghai, 2. Sishupal, 3. Lingipur, 4. Ransinghpur, 5. Tamando, 6. Malipada, 7. Andharua, 8. Kalarahanga, 9. Raghunathpur, 10. Barimunda, 11. Daruthenga/Chandaka, 12. Dhauli, 13. Janla, 14. Sijua,


  1. Balakati(Pratapsaan), 16. Balianta, 17. Jagannathpur,


  1. Pradhansahi,

(ii) Cuttack Municipal Corporation area; and

(iii)Bhadrak Municipality area. 

During this shutdown period, all offices, shops and establishments in the above areas will remain closed, except:

a) Hospitals, b) Police, Fire and Ambulance, c) Telecom services identified by Secretary, Electronics & IT Dept., d) Petrol pumps identified by respective Municipal Authorities, e) Railways and Airport for Cargo operation, f) Electronic Media identified by Commissionerate/District Police, g) IT/ITES/Call Centers relating to COVID-19 management(other IT/ITES as identified by Secretary, E&IT Dept.), h) Water Supply, sanitation and sewerage workers of respective municipal authorities, i) Electricity supply and distribution, j) Medicine stores as identified by respective Municipal authorities/ Drug Controller, k) Movement of goods vehicles, loaded or unloaded.

“All movement passes issued by any authority stand SUSPENDED during this shutdown. If required, fresh passes shall be issued by Principal Secretary, Home Department; Commissioner Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack; Commissioner BMC; Commissioner CMC and Collector & DM/ SP, Bhadrak during the shutdown period.

Any violation of this order shall entail prosecution under the penal provisions of Disaster Management Act, 2005 and IPC.

The Commissioner Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack, Commissioner BMC, Commissioner CMC and Collector & DM/ SP, Bhadrak are authorized to issue any further instructions/restrictions to enforce complete shutdown in their respective areas,” the advisory notification stated.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.