Achanta Sharath Kamal Receives Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, Lakshya Sen & Prannoy HS Get Arjuna Award


New Delhi: Table Tennis legend and Commonwealth Games medalist Achanta Sharath Kamal received the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award from President Droupadi Murmu at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here.

With this, Kamal become the second TT player after Manika Batra to receive the honour.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is India’s highest sporting honour given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. It was rechristened from Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna to Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratn a award last year.

He is the only player nominated for the award this year by India’s national sports awards selection committee, which recommended 11 players last year and five in 2020.

President Droupadi Murmu also presented the Arjuna award to Badminton players Lakshya Sen and Prannoy HS at the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2022 ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Comments are closed.