AAP’s Shelly Oberoi Is The New Delhi Mayor


Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party’s Shelly Oberoi was elected Delhi’s new mayor, defeating BJP’s Rekha Gupta by 34 votes after a bitterly fought election that had to be called off three times, officials announced on Wednesday.

Of the total 266 total votes cast for the mayoral elections, the AAP candidate bagged 150 votes while the BJP nominee, Rekha Gupta, trailed at 116 votes. Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia congratulated Shelly Oberoi for winning the mayoral election, saying the “goons lost, the public won.”

Repeating Sisodia’s “goons lost, public won” phrase, Delhi chief minister and AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal congratulated the people of Delhi on Oberoi’s victory in mayoral polls.

Oberoi will now preside over the rest of the polls, including that of the deputy mayor and six members of the powerful standing committee, in accordance with the top court’s Friday ruling.

The mayoral election was conducted following a Supreme Court order after three failed attempts earlier to hold the polls.

The AAP had emerged as a clear winner in the MCD polls held on December 4 last year, bagging 134 wards and ending the BJP’s 15-year rule in the civic body. The BJP won 104 wards to finish second, while the Congress won nine seats in the 250-member municipal House.

Comments are closed.