80th National Table Tennis Championship kicks off in Cuttack


Cuttack: The 80th edition of National Table Tennis Championship kicked off with 35 teams from the country at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack on Friday.

Gracing the event, Sports and Youth Services Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera inaugurated the six-day Tennis Championship.

The championship, hosted by Odisha State Table Tennis Association (OSTTA), will conclude on January 9. As many as 35 teams including 550 players from different parts of the country have participated in the event.

Commonwealth Games and Asian Games winner Manika Batra, senior players like Sharath Kamal, Madhuriba Patkar, and Olympian Ankita Das will be the limelight during the event.

In a statement, OSTTA secretary, Rabindra Kumar Parida urged the people of the state to come and enjoy the event.

It may be noted that OSTTA is hosting the championships after a gap of 12 years, last been hosted in 2011.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.