4th Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship (Women): Day 3 Results


Kanpur: Action in the 4th Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship Kanpur Uttar Pradesh 2019 (Women) continued here today into its third day on Tuesday, which saw Hockey Odisha, Hockey Haryana and Hockey Maharashtra register victories in their respective last Pool matches held here at the Hockey Complex, Green Park Stadium. Meanwhile, Hockey Jharkhand and Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu played out a 3-3 draw in their Pool A match.

The first match of the day saw Hockey Jharkhand and Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu play out an entertaining 3-3 draw in Pool A.

Hockey Jharkhand played well in the first period to take a 2-0 lead as Deepika Soreng (5′) and Beauty Dungdung (8′) scored the goals for them. The second period also started with Hockey Jharkhand scoring their third goal in the 12th minute through Betan Dungdung to take a commanding lead. But Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu made a brilliant comeback in the last five minutes to earn themselves a well-deserved draw.

Goals for Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu were scored by S Sabari Mani Devi (15′), O Narmatha (16′) and R Nivetha (17′).

The other Pool A match saw Hockey Odisha register their second win of the competition as they came from behind to beat Hockey Punjab 2-1. It was Hockey Punjab who scored first through Captain Navneet Kaur in the first minute of the match.

However, Hockey Odisha showed resilience in the following moments, and equalized in the 1st minute itself through Ajmina Kujur. It was a nervy match throughout the first and second periods where both the teams had chances to score, but it was only in the 20th minute that Hockey Odisha scored the winner through their Captain Asmita Barla to make it 2-1.

In Pool B, Hockey Haryana produced a stunning display as they beat hosts Uttar Pradesh Hockey 12-2. It was Uttar Pradesh Hockey who started the match on the front-foot as they scored in the 3rd minute through Lalrin Diki. However, Hockey Haryana put in an impressive performance after going behind to score four goals in the following 7 minutes of the first period.

The second period also belonged to Hockey Haryana as they scored eight more goals to make it a 12-2 victory. Goals for Hockey Haryana were scored by Amandeep Kaur (9′, 13′, 15′), Deepika (10′, 12′, 17′), Priyanka (4′, 6′), Captain Annu (11′, 16′), Usha (19′) and Monika Sihag (20′), while Komal Sahni (14′) also scored for Uttar Pradesh Hockey.

In the other Pool B match, it was Hockey Maharashtra who scored an exciting 5-2 win against Hockey Karnataka. The match saw Hockey Karnataka take the lead in the 6th minute through HR Anjali, but it was soon called out by Hockey Maharashtra.

Hockey Maharashtra scored four more goals in the next 10 minutes to make it 4-1, before Hockey Karnataka scored their second in the 16th minute through PA Pavithra. Hockey Maharashtra bagged a fifth goal in the 17th minute to make it 5-2 and register a convincing victory. Goals for Hockey Maharashtra were scored by Aishwarya Chavan (7′, 17′), Vaishnavi Phalke (14′, 15′) and Rutuja Pisal (16′).

The Quarter-Finals of the 4th Hockey India 5-a-side Senior National Championship Kanpur Uttar Pradesh 2019 (Women) will take place on Wednesday, 25th September 2019 as per the below schedule:

Quarter-Final 1 – 0630hrs IST – Hockey Jharkhand v Hockey Karnataka

Quarter-Final 2 – 0710hrs IST – Uttar Pradesh Hockey v Hockey Punjab

Quarter-Final 3 – 0750hrs IST – Hockey Odisha v Hockey Maharashtra

Quarter-Final 4 – 0830hrs IST – Hockey Haryana v Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.