280 Block Congress committees dissolved in Delhi


New Delhi: The Delhi Congress chief Sheila Dikshit on Friday dissolved all 280 Block Congress Committees in Delhi “with immediate effect”.

This is being viewed as a rejig in Congress after the party’s debacle in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha elections.

A number of Congress leaders have resigned from their posts in a bid to give party president Rahul Gandhi a “free hand” to choose new teams in the wake of humiliating defeat.

The grand old party is limited to 52 seats in the 543-seater Lower House of the Parliament. The rival Bharatiya Janata Party-led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi secured a thumping mandate winning 303 seats.

The biggest blow to Congress came from Amethi where Rahul Gandhi lost to BJP’s Smriti Irani. The Gandhi scion got a face saver in Wayanad in Kerala.

The party could  manage to hold the fort in its sole parliamentary constituency of Rae Bareli which re-elected UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi as its MP.

The BJP won 62 seats in Uttar Pradesh while SP-BSP alliance managed to secure only 15 seats.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.