2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded for development of lithium-ion batteries


New Delhi: The Nobel Prize for the year 2019 in Chemistry has been awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for “the development of lithium-ion batteries”.

John B. Goodenough was born in Germany in 1922 and is currently at the University of Texas in the US. M. Stanley Whittingham was born in 1941 in the UK and currently teaches at the Binghamton University in the US. Akira Yoshino was born in 1948 in Japan and is currently a professor at the Meijo University in Japan.

Lithium-ion batteries have revolutionised the world of technology. The batteries power everyday products such as smartphones, laptops and even electric vehicles.



Notably, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. This is one of the five Nobel Prizes that were established by the will of Alfred Nobel, a businessman, chemist, engineer, inventor, and philanthropist.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded 110 times to 180 individuals between 1901 and 2018.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.