2001 Parliament Attack: President Kovind, PM Modi Pay Tributes To Martyrs


New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind, Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with other parliamentarians on Friday paid tribute to the martyrs of the 2001 Parliament Attack.

Eighteen years ago on December 13, terrorists of the Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and the Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) attacked the Parliament complex and opened fire killing nine people.

Nine Delhi Police personnel, two Parliament Security Service personnel were martyred and a gardener killed in the attack. All five terrorists, belonging to the Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM), were gunned down by the security personnel.

The five terrorists barged into the Parliament complex in an Ambassador car with Home Ministry and Parliament labels. Since both Houses had been adjourned just 40 minutes ago, many MPs and union ministers, including then-Home Minister LK Advani were present in the building. When spotted, they rammed their car into that of then-Vice President Krishan Kant and began firing.

In the exchange that followed, all five were gunned down and eight security personnel were martyred.

Four people were arrested by the Delhi Police’s Special Cell. While Afzal Guru was convicted by the judiciary and eventually executed in February 2013. His cousin Shaukat, too, was convicted and sentenced to death, but later his sentence was commuted to 10 years of rigorous imprisonment. Shaukat’s wife Afsan, meanwhile, was acquitted.

Former Delhi University assistant professor, SAR Geelani, who died in October, was earlier convicted and sentenced to death, but was later acquitted of all charges.

Ghazi Baba, the mastermind of the attack was also been gunned down in an encounter with the Border Security Force (BSF) in 2003.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.