17th National Chess Team Championship: Padmini Rout wins title for PSPB team


Kolkata: International Master Padmini Rout, clinched the title of the 17th National Team Championship 2019 Women, for the Petroleum Sports Promotion Board team.

The PSPB team comprising Padmini Rout, Eesha Karavade, Mary Ann Gomes, Pratyusha Bodda and Soumya Swaminathan won the title after they topped the 7-round Swiss-League tournament.

Team PSBS were declared the defending Champion with a 100% score.

Current Asian Continental Women’s Champion IM Padmini Rout individually scored 7 points out of maximum 7 games to secure an individual Gold medal on Board no.3.

A total of 15 teams had participated in the five-day long championship including seven Women Grandmasters and Women International Masters.

With all Grandmasters in their lineup, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board got the top billing while the Air India and Airports Authority of India started as second and third seeds, respectively.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.