10 Berhampur corporators quit Congress


Berhampur: In yet another jolt to the state unit of Congress, as many as 10 corporators of Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC) here quit the party today.

Meanwhile, the sent their resignation letters to the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Prasad Harichandan. The outgoing corporators are Ranjit Kumar Nayak, Anil Nayak, Minari Kumari Bisoyi, R Murali Mohan, Sanjukta Patra, Gita Madhi, Lili Kumari Behera, B Srinibas Rao, M Meenakshi and Priyanka Choudhury.

Stating the reason behind their decision, the corporators said that the increasing infighting among the party’s senior leaders and indiscipline of office bearers as well as depleting party organization compelled them to resign.

The development comes after Congress veteran and former Union Minister Chandrasekhar Sahu along with Ganjam district president of the party Bhagaban Gantayat and AICC member Bikram Panda resigned from Congress party on Thursday.

Speculations are rife over their joining the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on April 4 in the presence of BJD supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.