State Cabinet nods for additional incentives to faculties of new govt medical colleges


Bhubaneswar: In a bid to attract more doctors to the medical colleges in Koraput, Bolangir, Baripada and Balasore districts, the Odisha Cabinet on Wednesday cleared a proposal during its meeting chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

According to an official statement, the four new medical colleges have been divided into two zones. Those in KBK and KBK-plus areas have been included under zone-1 and others situated at least 100 km away from the existing government medical colleges (Cuttack, Berhampur and Burla), established prior to 2017, have been included under Zone-II.

A professor posted in KBK region would get a monthly incentive of Rs 1, 25,000 in addition to his/her original monthly salary, while the monthly incentive for an associate professor would Rs 1 lakh and Rs 50,000 for assistant professor with addition to their monthly salaries.

A professor working in zone-II medical colleges would get Rs 35,000 incentives in additional to their salary. While the monthly incentive for an associate professor in zone-II would be Rs 25,000, the assistant professor would get Rs 15,000 as incentive.

Besides, all doctors belonging to the non-clinical and para-clinical disciplines working in the new government medical colleges would get additional incentives of Rs 20,000 per month in addition to their original monthly salaries, said the health minister.

The decision would involve a financial burden of Rs 19.73 crore per annum from the state exchequer.

“The decision was taken in order to attract the doctors, who are not interested to join the new medical colleges situated in Koraput-Balangir-Kalahandi (KBK) regions and other districts far off from the existing medical colleges,” health and family welfare minister Pratap Jena told mediamen after the cabinet meeting.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.