Rayagada tribals express heartiest thanks to CM over declaration of setting up of Special Dev Councils


Bhubaneswar: Tribal people from Rayagada today arrived at Naveen Nivas and expressed their heartiest thanks to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik here over declaration of setting up of Special Development Councils (SDC) in nine tribal dominated districts of Odisha.

For four consecutive days, tribal people of different communities from Nabarangpur, Koraput, Malkangiri and Rayagada districts have come to the state capital to express their heartfelt gratitude to the CM being dressed in their traditional outfits. Minister Ramesh Majhi was present among other delegates at Naveen Nivas here today.

Notably, the state Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik approved the proposal for establishment of the SDC and talking to media, CM had described the cabinet decision as a landmark step and unique in the whole of the country. No other state has taken such a step for the development of the tribals, he said.

The SDC would be established in the districts of Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Sundergarh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur districts.

The Chief Minister had said about Rs 1.5 crore will be allotted to each block under these councils and a total of Rs 175.50 crore will be spent per annum through these councils. The nine districts have 117 blocks.


Most Popular

To Top