Presidential Election: Different coloured ballot papers for MPs and MLAs


New Delhi: For the upcoming Presidential election, there will be green-coloured ballot papers for members of Parliament and pink for legislators who vote on July 17.

In case the NDA and the opposition field their own candidates and none withdraws till July 1 evening, the Election Commission will initiate the process of “final printing” of ballot papers as a contest would then become imminent.

The value of a legislator’s vote depends on the population of the state he or she represents. But the value of the vote of a lawmaker doesn’t vary – it is 708. Hence, the different colour of ballot papers will help the returning officer count the votes based on the value.

The total value of the Electoral College is 10, 98,903. The ballot boxes will be brought to Delhi for counting on July 20.

President Pranab Mukherjee’s term ends on July 24. Voting for the next president is scheduled on July 17, while the counting will take place on July 20.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.