Latest News Update

Parliament’s Monsoon Session: Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha adjourned for the day; 16 news Bills to be introduced

Monsoon Session

New Delhi: After paying homage to Amarnath terror attack pilgrims, both Rajya as well as Lok Sabha were adjourned till July 18. In Lok Sabha, speaker Sumitra Mahajan, read obituary reference while the leaders observe silence as a mark of tribute to the Amarnath victims and departed members including Union Ministers Anil Madhav Dave, Dasari Narayana Rao, Akhilesh Das Gupta, Era Sezhiyan, Palvai Govardhan Reddy, C. Narayana Reddy, U.K. Lakshmana Gowda, and P.N. Sukul.

Apart from this, on the first day of session, Farooq Abdullah and P. Kunhalikutty were sworn in as members of parliament.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed media and hoped that all the parties would discuss and take decisions in the national interest, and in the spirit of the GST – Growing Stronger Together.

The session which will continue till August 11 is likely to be stormy as the Opposition parties may corner the government over a range of issues.

Meanwhile, BJP-led government will be introducing 18 new Bills in the session. Thirty four Bills are on the agenda of the government for the Monsoon Session.


Most Popular

To Top