Nitish Kumar’s floor test in Bihar Assembly on Friday

Nitish Kumar

Patna: Janata Dal (United) chief Nitish Kumar, who once again took oath of office as the Chief Minister of Bihar on Thursday, will undergo a floor test in the state assembly on Friday to prove majority in house.

The Nitish Kumar government has the support of 132 MLAs which included 71 members of JD (U) besides 53 of BJP, RLSP 2, LJP 2, HAM 1 and Independent 3.

In the 243-member Bihar house the magic figure is 122.

Tomorrow’s session is likely to be a stormy one considering the belligerent mood displayed by the RJD which said it was not given a chance to form government despite being the single-largest party.

The RJD has claimed the support of 27 Congress MLAs, 2 CPI-ML legislators and some Independents.

RJD leaders also claimed many JD (U) MLAs, who won the 2015 Bihar Assembly polls against the BJP, would cross over to them during on Friday’s trust vote.

Over the last 24 hours, Bihar witnessed a heated political environment.

It first started with the resignation of Nitish Kumar as Bihar Chief Minister in protest against state Deputy and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) member Tejashwi Yadav’s corruption charges. This was followed by Nitish pulling out of the nearly two-year-old grand alliance between JD (U) and RJD, and forming a new coalition between BJP and JD(U).

Earlier today, Nitish Kumar was back in office as the Chief Minister of Bihar, claiming support of 132 MLAs. BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi also took oath as Bihar Deputy Chief Minister.


Most Popular

To Top