Nitish Kumar wins floor test in Bihar Assembly

Nitish Kumar

Patna:  Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has sailed through a trust vote in the Bihar Assembly with 131 of the 243 legislators voting for him.

With 131 votes in their favour, the JD (U)-BJP alliance has proven its majority. 108 MLAs voted against the motion.

The RJD-Congress combine got 108 votes.

Nitish-BJP needed 122 members’ support for a win in the 243-member House.

This morning the RJD has moved court challenging the appointment of Nitish Kumar as Chief Minister. The court has admitted the petition but refused to stop the trust vote, saying it would hear the case on Monday.

After resigning as the chief minister of the Grand Alliance amid corruption allegations against the RJD leaders, Nitish accepted the NDA support to form a new government in Bihar.


Most Popular

To Top