Nabarangpur tribals thank CM for taking decision to set up Special Development Councils in 9 districts


Bhubaneswar: Expressing befitting gratitude to Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik for his swift decision to establish Special Development Council (SDC) for nine tribal dominated districts, the Nabarangpur tribal representatives today arrived here at Naveen Nivas and appreciated the Cabinet’s decision taken for their welfare.

Over 500 tribal people of Ganda, Bhatra, Parja, Santa, Gadaba, Saura and Amanatya communities arrived here from Nabarangpur and held a rally dressed in their traditional outfits and expressed their joy over the Cabinet’s decision.

Among others Minister Ramesh Majhi, MLA Manohar Randhari, Nabarangpur legislator Subash Ganda and former Zilla Parishad chairman Motiram Nayak were present in the programme.

In the historical move towards tribal welfare the state government aims at embarking active participation of tribals in the mainstream and empowering them with decision making powers.

Notably, the state Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik approved the proposal for establishment of the SDC and talking to media, CM had described the cabinet decision as a landmark step and unique in the whole of the country. No other state has taken such a step for the development of the tribals, he said.

The SDC would be established in the districts of Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Sundergarh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur districts.

The Chief Minister had said about Rs 1.5 crore will be allotted to each block under these councils and a total of Rs 175.50 crore will be spent per annum through these councils. The nine districts have 117 blocks.


Most Popular

To Top