Met issues thunderstorm, lightning alert for 23 Odisha districts

Thunderstorm alert

Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here today issued thunderstorm and lightning warning for 23 districts of Odisha till 11.30 pm today.

The Met office has sounded alert for Koraput, Malkangiri, Ganjam, Gajapati, Balasore, Bhadrak, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Jajpur, Puri, Khurda, Cuttack, Nayagarh, Deogarh, Angul, Jagatsinghpur, Kandhamal, Boudh, Sonepur, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda and Kendrapara districts.

“Latest Doppler weather radar and satellite imageries indicate that thunderstorm accompanied with lightning and moderate rainfall is likely to occur over these districts between 8.30 pm and 11.30 pm today,” a statement of the Met office said.

The weatherman cautioned people in these districts to stay indoors and take shelter in buildings and other safe locations as a precautionary measure.


Most Popular

To Top