MeT department issues lightning warning for 20 districts in Odisha

Lightning strike

Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued lightning warning in 20 districts of Odisha.

As per a bulletin of the local meteorological centre here, thunderstorm and lightning are likely to occur in Khurda, Puri, Nayagarh, Cuttack, Angul, Koraput, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Kandhamal, Rayagada, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Baleswar, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Kalahandi and Nabrangpur.

The alert would remain in effect till 5.45 pm, an IMD bulletin issued by its Regional Centre here this afternoon said.

It has advised people in these 20 districts to remain indoors during this period and move to safe locations like concrete houses to avoid any untoward incident.


Most Popular

To Top