Breaking News


MeT department issues lightning warning for 15 districts in Odisha

lightning warning

Bhubaneswar: The Indian Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued lightning warning in 15 districts of Odisha.

As per a bulletin of the local meteorological centre here, thunderstorm and lightning are likely to occur in Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Baleswar, Bhadrak, Anugul, Jajpur, Nayagarh, Kandhamal, Ganjam, Gajapati, Cuttack, Kendrapara, Khurda Jagatsinghpur and Dhenkanal.

The alert would remain in effect till 5.30 pm, an IMD bulletin issued by its Regional Centre here this afternoon said.

It has advised people in these 15 districts to remain indoors during this period and move to safe locations like concrete houses to avoid any untoward incident.

Notably, on Tuesday, lightning had claimed as many as eight lives and injured five others at different places in Odisha.


Most Popular

To Top