Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as new Chief Justice of India

New Delhi: Justice Dipak Misra was sworn in as the Chief Justice of India (CJI) today in a brief ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan. He was administered the oath of office by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Misra will be the 45th chief justice of the Supreme Court and have a 14-month tenure till October 2018. He takes over from chief justice J.S. Khehar.

Born in 1953, 63-year-old Misra joined the bar in 1977 and began his judicial career at the Orissa high court as an additional judge in 1996.

Misra was then transferred to the Madras high court following which he assumed charge as chief justice of the Patna high court in 2009. He was named chief justice of Delhi high court in 2010.

In 2011, Misra was elevated to the Supreme Court, where he has been part of several noteworthy cases and judgments including the historic one on 30 July, 2015, when the apex court was opened at 3am to decide on Yakub Memon’s appeal against his execution. Memon was convicted in the 1993 Mumbai blasts case.

Misra also headed the bench that upheld the death sentence awarded in the Nirbhaya gang rape case.

He has also played an active role in the crackdown on child pornography websites.

His views on nationalism have been highlighted through his guidelines on the mandatory playing of the national anthem in theatres. Apart from all this, Misra has addressed the plight of farmers in various farmer suicide cases. The introduction of ‘Nyaya Sanyog’ (Legal Assistance Establishments) in states to provide legal access to the poor also bears his imprimatur.


Most Popular

To Top