IMD issues thunderstorm warning for 19 Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: The India Meteorological Department (IMD) regional centre here issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for 19 districts of Odisha today.

The districts have been put on alert are Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Balasore, Sundergarh, Jharsuguda, Ganjam, Gajapati, Bhadrak, Kendrapara, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack, Jajpur, Puri, Nayagarh, Angul, Dhenkanal, Rayagada, Kandhamal and Khordha.

The warning has been issued between 1.30 pm and 5.30 pm.

The latest Doppler weather radar and images indicate that thunderstorm accompanied by hail and gusty surface wind speed reaching 50 to 60 kmph is likely to occur at these places, a bulletin issued by IMD read.

People in these districts have been advised not to venture outside.


Most Popular

To Top