Breaking News


Here’s detail of National Sports Awards – 2017

Sports Awards

New Delhi: A large number of nominations were received for National Sports Awards-2017 this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Olympian, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sport Journalists/ Experts/ Commentators and sports administrators.

Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice C.K. Thakkar (Former Judge Supreme Court of India, Chief Justice of High Court of Himachal and Bombay). Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by Shri Pullela Gopichand.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.

Here’s the detail of National Sports Awards – 2017

(i)         Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardee discipline
1. Devendra jhajharia Para Athlete
2. Sardar Singh Hockey


(ii)        Dronacharya Awards 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardee Discipline
1. Late Dr. R. Gandhi Athletics
2. Heera Nand Kataria Kabaddi
3. G.S.S.V. Prasad Badminton (Lifetime)
4. Brij Bhushan Mohanty Boxing (Lifetime)
5. P.A. Raphel Hockey (Lifetime)
6. Sanjoy Chakraverthy Shooting (Lifetime)
7. Roshan Lal Wrestling (Lifetime)


(iii)       Arjuna Awards 2017

S. No. Name of the Awardees Discipline
1. V.J. Surekha Archery
2. Khushbir Kaur Athletics
3. Arokia Rajiv Athletics
4. Prasanthi Singh Basketball
5. Sub. LaishramDebendro Singh Boxing
6. CheteshwarPujara Cricket
7. Harmanpreet Kaur Cricket
8. OinamBembem Devi Football
9. S.S.P. Chawrasia Golf
10. S.V. Sunil Hockey
11. Jasvir Singh Kabaddi
12. P. N. Prakash Shooting
13. A. Amalraj Table Tennis
14. SakethMyneni Tennis
15. SatyawartKadian Wrestling
16. Mariyappan Para-Athlete
17. Varun Singh Bhati Para-Athlete



(iv)       Dhyan Chand Award

S. No. Name  Discipline
1 . Bhupender Singh Athletics
2. Syed Shahid Hakim Football
3. Sumarai Tete Hockey

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2017.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will received statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.


Most Popular

Follow us on


Subscribe Our News

Enter Your Email Address

Copyright © 2016 Pragativadi. Powered by 4u Software Solutions

To Top