G4 nations including India may give up veto power at UN Security Council


New Delhi: India and other members of the G4 have offered to initially forgo veto powers as permanent members in a reformed Security Council as a bargaining chip to get the reform process moving.

“The issue of veto is important, but we should not allow it to have a veto over the process of Council reform itself,” said India’s Permanent Representative Syed Akbaruddin, who was speaking on Tuesday on behalf of the G4 at the Inter-Governmental Negotiations (IGN) on Council reforms.

Speaking on behalf of the G4 nations – Brazil, Germany, India, and Japan, Akbaruddin said while new permanent members would, in principle, have veto powers that the current five members have, “they shall not exercise the veto until a decision on the matter has been taken during a review.”

The Security Council, formed in 1945, has five permanent members: China, France, Russia, the UK and US. Ten non-permanent members are elected for two-year terms. India’s bid for permanent membership, to reflect its importance as a major South Asian power, has been blocked by China and Pakistan.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.