Breaking News


Dharmendra Pradhan among five elected unopposed from Madhya Pradesh to RS

Dharmendra Pradhan

Bhopal: Union ministers Dharmendra Pradhan and Thawar Chand Gehlot were among the five candidates elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh on Thursday.

Gehlot, Pradhan, Ajay Pratap Singh, and Kailash Soni (BJP) and Rajmani Patel (Congress) were declared elected unopposed, after the 3 PM deadline for withdrawing nominations by election authorities since no candidate backed off.

All five candidates filed their nominations papers on March 12, which were found to be valid during scrutiny on the next day.

Pradhan, who previously went to the Upper House from Bihar, is the first politician from Odisha to have been elected to Rajya Sabha from outside the state.

The saffron leader was a Member of 14th Lok Sabha from Deogarh constituency. He was also an MLA from Pallahara Assembly segment from 2000-2004.


Most Popular

To Top