Cabinet clears 4 supplementary GST bills

GST bills

New Delhi: The Union Cabinet on Monday cleared four supporting GST bills, which will now be introduced in Parliament during the ongoing Budget session.

The four supporting GST legislations include Central GST or C-GST, the Integrated GST (I-GST), and the Union Territory GST (UT-GST), and the Compensation to the States Law.

The four bills were earlier approved by the GST Council after a thorough clause by clause discussion over 12 meetings held in the last six months.

The GST Council, in its previous two meetings, had given approval to the four legislations as also the State-GST (S-GST) bill. While the S-GST has to be passed by each of the state legislative assemblies, the four other laws have to be approved by Parliament.

Passage of all the legislations would pave the way for introduction of Goods and Services Tax (GST) from July 1.

The government is hoping the C-GST, I-GST, UT-GST and the GST Compensation laws will be approved in the current session of Parliament and the S-GST by each of the state legislatures soon.


Most Popular

To Top