Breaking News


BJD’s Achyuta, Prashant, Soumya file nomination papers for Rajya Sabha polls

nomination filling Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar: BJD’s three candidates- Achyuta Samanta, Prashant Nanda and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik for the Rajya Sabha polls have filed their nominations for the vacant Upper House seats on Friday in presence of party supremo and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

The first nomination papers were filed by Prashant Nanda following which Achyuta Samanta and Soumya Ranjan Patnaik filed their nomination papers before Returning Officer Rajesh Prabhakar Patil at room number 54 of Odisha Legislative Assembly.

The nomination papers will be scrutinized on March 13 and March 15 has been set as the deadline for withdrawing the nominations, Patil said.

The polling will be held between 9 AM and 4 PM on March 23, while the votes will be counted at 5 PM on the same day.

Notably, three seats in Rajya Sabha from the state will fall vacant as the tenure of BJD Members AU Singhdeo and Dilip Tirkey as well as BJD-backed Independent candidate AV Swami is scheduled to end on April 2.


Most Popular

To Top