Bijepur by-poll 2018 Result Live Updates: BJD’s Rita Sahu gets massive lead against BJP, Congress


Bargarh: Bijepur by-election result in Odisha will be out today as counting of votes has begun. The by-election to Bijepur assembly seat has become a prestige battle between ruling BJD and the BJP. The voting for Bijepur by-election took place on Saturday last and around 82 percent voters exercised their franchise. As many as 85 polling booths were set up for the bypoll. In the 2014 assembly election in Bijepur seat, 82% voting was recorded.

The seat fell vacant after the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu in August last year. There are as many as 13 candidates in the fray but the bypoll has become a triangular contest between BJD, BJP, and Congress. Their respective candidates are Rita Sahu, wife of Subal Sahu, Ashok Panigrahi, and Pranay Sahu.

There are as many as 2.21 lakh voters in Bijepur. As many as 281 polling booths were set up for the bypolls. During the campaign, a virtual war between BJP and BJP was underplaying for winning the seat. The result of the bypoll could set the tone for next year’s assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

  • 3 PM

21st and final Round Counting of votes: BJD- 102871 , BJP- 60938 and Congress- 10274.

BJD leads by 41933 votes from BJP.

  • 1. 45 PM

20th Round Counting of votes: BJD- 101435 , BJP- 59895 and Congress- 10153.

BJD leads by 41540 votes from BJP.

  • 1. 25 PM

Nineteenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 97724  , BJP- 57476 and Congress- 8934   .

BJD leads by 40248 votes from BJP.

  • 1.10 PM

Eighteenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 93283  , BJP- 55015   and Congress- 7914  .

BJD leads by  38268 votes from BJP.

  • 12. 58 PM

Seventeenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 88929 , BJP-  51791 and Congress- 7213  .

BJD leads by  37138 votes from BJP.

  • 12. 50 PM

Sixteenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 84969 , BJP- 48182 and Congress- 6451  .

BJD leads by 36787  votes from BJP.

  • 12. 40 PM

Fifteenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 81488 , BJP- 45190 and Congress- 4608  .

BJD leads by 36298  votes from BJP.

  • 12. 30 PM

Fourteenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 75740, BJP-  43161 and Congress- 3755 .

BJD leads by 32579 votes from BJP.

  • 12. 20 PM

Thirteenth Round Counting of votes: BJD- 71454, BJP- 40225 and Congress- 3527.

BJD leads by 31229 votes from BJP.

  • 11.55 AM

Twelfth Round Counting of votes: BJD-65401, BJP-37119 and Congress- 3259.

BJD leads by 28282 votes from BJP.

  • 11.50 AM

Eleventh Round Counting of votes: BJD-59298, BJP-34132 and Congress- 2980.

BJD leads by 25166 votes from BJP.

  • 11. 35 AM

Tenth Round Counting of votes: BJD-54104, BJP-31366 and Congress- 2788.

BJD leads by 22738 votes from BJP.

  • 11. 20 AM

Ninth Round Counting of votes: BJD-50095, BJP-29304 and Congress- 2643.

BJD leads by 20791 votes from BJP.

  • 11.10 AM

Eighth Round Counting of votes: BJD-45044, BJP-25989 and Congress- 2263.

BJD leads by 19055 votes from BJP.

  • 10.53 AM

Seventh Round Counting of votes: BJD-38814, BJP-23739 and Congress- 2083.

BJD leads by 15075 votes.

  • 10.35 AM

Sixth Round Counting of votes: BJD-33377, BJP-20579, Congress- 1877 and NOTA-594.

BJD leads by 12798 votes.

  • 10.25 AM

Fifth round counting of votes: BJD-28621, BJP-16628 and Congress- 1762.

  • 10.14 AM

Fourth round of counting of votes concludes. BJD gets 23,054 votes, whereas BJP received 14,174 votes and Congress got 1425 votes.


  • 10.02 AM

In third round of counting of votes BJD bags 17,387 votes, BJP got 9801 votes and Congress receives 948 votes. With the completion of third round of counting, BJD leads by 7586 votes.


  • 9.37 AM

In the second round BJD candidate Rita Sahu has got 6001 votes whereas BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi has received 3141 votes. On the other hand 85 votes go to NOTA and other candidates received 247 votes.


  • 9:18 AM

Vote count for Bijepur Bye-election 2018 is underway. After first round, the BJD candidate has got 5,675 votes whereas, BJP’s Ashok Panigarhi has received 2,769 votes and Congress’s Pranaya Sahu is trailing behind with 315 votes.

  • 9:12 AM

For Bijepur Assembly Bye-Election 2018, the BJD has fielded Rita Sahu, the wife of Subal Sahu. On the other hand, the Congress has fielded Pranay Sahu from the seat with an aim to claim its stake in Bijepur.

  • 9:03 AM

A total of 13 candidates are in the fray for Bijepur Assembly seat. Bypoll to Bijepur was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu.

  • 8:50 AM

The counting of postal ballots has concluded in Bijepur. As per the early trends, BJD candidate Rita Sahu leads by 2,986 votes against her nearest contender, BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi. Meanwhile, the counting of votes is underway.

  • 8:43 AM

The counting of postal ballots is underway in Bijepur. The results for Bijepur Bye-Election will be announced till evening.

  • 8:36 AM

Bijepur Assembly seat is witnessing a tough contest between the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

  • 8:03 AM

The counting of votes for Bijepur Bye-Election 2018 has begun. The results will be declared in a short while. The seat is witnessing a tough contest between the BJP, BJD and the Congress.

  • 7:51 AM

The voting for Bijepur Assembly Bypoll 2018 was held on February 24 and a total of 72 per cent voter turnout was recorded.

  • 7:39 AM

Hello and welcome to the live updates on Bijepur Bye-Election 2018 Result. The counting of votes is expected to begin shortly at 8 AM.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.